Last update: 3 months ago

On 16 March 2014, Serbian Progressive Party (SNS) won 48.4% of the seats in parliament. Next to them, only three parties surpassed the threshold of 5%: Socialist Party of Serbia (SPS) 13.5%, Democratic Party (DS) 6%, and the coalition around former President Boris Tadić 5,7%. The current President Tomislav Nikolić, former leader of SNS, is in power since May 2012. On the 1st of March 2012, Serbia obtained the candidate status for the EU after the submission for its application in December 2009. Serbia has made progress in meeting the political criteria and addressing key European Partnership priorities in the last years.

Download Country Update

Want to get notified by mail when Serbia gets updated?

Map of Serbia

Short facts

7,098,247 million (World Bank 2015 est.)
Governmental Type:
Ruling Coalition:
Last Elections:
24 April 2016 (parliamentary elections)
Next Elections:
2017 (presidential elections)
Sister Parties:
Democratic Party, (DS), Social Democratic Party (SDS)
Image of Tomislav Nikolić

Tomislav Nikolić


Read biography
Image of Aleksandar Vučić

Aleksandar Vučić

Prime Minister

Read biography

Political Situation

EU candidate status

After ten rounds of talks between in April 2013 Belgrade and Pristina signed a historic deal mediated by Brussels, normalizing relations, opening their way towards EU integration and granting Serb majority municipalities in Kosovo broad powers in education, health care and spatial planning. The implementation of the deal on the ground remains a major challenge. The agreement had positive effects for Serbia and Kosovo  with regard to the EU integration. Serbia opened the accession negotiations, while Kosovo signed its first agreement with the EU that should lead to the Stabilisation and Association Agreement. 

As a result of the breakthrough with Kosovo, the Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the EU and Serbia entered into force in September 2013. Three months later the Council adopted the negotiating framework, wherefore Serbia could hold the first Intergovernmental Conference on 21 January 2014. This date marks the formal start of the accession negotiations. 

Early parliamentary elections

On 30 January 2014 Serbian president Tomislav Nikolić called early parliamentary elections. According to the president “Serbia shall certainly get a government with more energy and enthusiasm and released from problems that this government has solved.”  The coalition government, SNS is the main party, explained its request for early elections by the need to ensure ‘as wide as possible support for accelerated reforms and modernization of Serbia’. However, the fact that SNS was skyrocketing in all polls (above 40%) is considered as crucial factor for SNS to go to the polls and having its leader Aleksandar Vučić return as Prime Minister.

Former President formed new party in 2014

On 30 January 2014 former President of Serbia Boris Tadić resigned as honorary president of the Democratic Party (DS), splitting the vote on the center-left. Tadić said he decided to leave because of disagreements with the direction in which the Democrats were heading under the new leadership. DS was at that moment looking for a potential coalition with the New Party (Nova Stranka) led by Zoran Živković, a former member of the DS who has accused Tadić of being a mafia lord. After his resignation Tadić started his own party: New Democratic party (NDS). In early 2014 the NDS signed a political cooperation with the Greens and therefore have a new name: NDS-Z. With this party Tadić and the League of Social Democrats of Vojvoodina (LSV) Tadić won enough votes in the parliamentary elections of 2014 to pass the threshold.


Presidential elections

On 20 May 2012, SNS leader Tomislav Nikolić won the presidential runoff against the leader of the Democrats Boris Tadić in the second round of the presidential elections. It was predicted that Tadić would win as he was leading in polls and came out first in the first round. According to the preliminary results of the Center for Free Elections and Democracy, CeSID, Tomislav Nikolić won 49.8% and Boris Tadić 47%. CeSID Program Director Marko Blagojević told at a press conference that a total voter turnout had been 46.3%, which is less than in any elections since 2004. Only in Vojvodina Tadić gained more votes – 52.2%, while Nikolić got 44.2% of the vote. Outgoing President Tadić served as Serbia's president for two mandates since 2004.

Political parties

Logo of Democratic Party

Democratic Party (DS)

Party Leader: Bojan Pajtic

Number of seats: 19

Read more

Logo of League of Social Democrats in Vojvodina

League of Social Democrats in Vojvodina (LSV)

Party Leader: Nenad Čanak

Number of seats: 4

Read more

Logo of Social Democratic Union

Social Democratic Union (SDU)

Party Leader: Žarko Korać

Read more

Logo of New Democratic Party-Greens

New Democratic Party-Greens (NDS-Z)

Party Leader: Boris Tadić

Number of seats: 18

Read more

Logo of Social Democratic Party of Serbia

Social Democratic Party of Serbia (SDPS)

Party Leader: Rasim Ljajic

Read more

Logo of Serbian Progressive Party

Serbian Progressive Party (SNS)

Party Leader: Aleksandar Vučić

Number of seats: 157

Read more


Image of Tomislav Nikolić

Tomislav Nikolić


Read biography
Image of Aleksandar Vučić

Aleksandar Vučić

Prime Minister

Read biography
Image of Ivica Dačić

Ivica Dačić

Leader Socialist party of Serbia (SPS) and minister of foreign affairs

Read biography
Image of Bojan Pajtic

Bojan Pajtic

Leader Democratic Party (DS)

Read biography
Image of Boris Tadić

Boris Tadić

Leader New Democratic Party (NDS)

Read biography


Country profiles

  • BBC country profile
  • CIA world factbook
  • United Nations – common county assessment


  • Worldbank reports
  • IMF reports
  • Instute for War and Peace Reporting
  • B92


  • CeSID
  • Election
  • Reuters

European Union

  • European Commission Serbia and Montenegro - Stabilisation and Association Report 2004
  • European Union’s external relation’s with Serbia and Montenegro
  • Serbian politics
  • Government
  • Parliament
  • Political parties BBC
  • Election Guide

War Crimes

  • UN International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
  • War Crimes Tribunal Watch
  • Institute for War and Peace Reporting on the Tribunal

News and analysis

  • B92
  • BETA News Agency
  • Civilatas Research
  • Freedom house
  • Institute for war and peace reporting
  • Radio Free Europe – Radio Liberty
  • Transitions Online
  • World Press Review
  • Balkan Times
  • SE Times